

Ref. No.

PRESS CLUB OF INDIA

1, RAISINA ROAD, NEW DELHI - 110 001, INDIA E-mail : pressclubofindia1@gmail.com, Web : pressclubofindia.org Phone: 011 23719844 011 23730248 011 23357048

Dated

11th May, 2024

To The Chief Election Commission of India Nirvachan Sadan New Delhi

We, the undersigned journalist bodies, are dismayed at the Election Commission not holding a single press conference even after the completion of voting in three phases across the nation.

Till 2019, the last general election, holding a press conference after voting in each phase was the normal practice. India, being one of the largest democracies in the world and the general election considered as the "biggest festival of democracy", the citizens have every right to know what has happened on the voting day, from the constitutional body, the Election Commission of India.

It should be noted that at press conferences, the journalists get their doubts and confusions, if any, cleared which helps them report and write error free copy for their readers. They keep the citizens accurately informed and updated on the ongoing election. The Election Commissioners can also speak directly to voters via electronic media during a press conference.

We are shocked and surprised that the Commission has not been releasing the "absolute number of votes polled" in the last three phases. This was not the case in the past elections. These developments have led to apprehension in the minds of people about the fairness of the elections.

In this context, we demand that the ECI hold a press conference after every phase of voting. Further, we demand that the entire poll data, including absolute number of votes polled and final percentage of voting be released by the next day of the polling. Such transparency is necessary to uphold the voters' confidence in the electoral system.

We hope that you will agree to these demands and act immediately on them,

Yours Sincerely,

Gautam Lahiri (President, Press Club of India) Sd/-

- Parul Sharma (President, Indian Women Press Corp)
- C. K. Nayak (President, Press Association)
- S. Venkat Narayan (President, Foreign Correspondent Club)
- Sujata Madhok (Presdent, Delhi Union of Journalists)

